• SCP0998
  • STU5188
  • STU6091
  • P9221342
  • IMG 2191
  • STU5530
  • P1161809
  • SCP5445


ResizedImage7897 Gordon Johnson
GORDON JOHNSON - Chairman and a Director of the C.A.T.

Gordon was the President of Wolfson College, Cambridge, from 1993 to 2010 and Deputy Vice-Chancellor of Cambridge University from 2002–2010.  He currently chairs the Syndicate governing Cambridge University Press.  He is also a Director of the Cambridge University Centre of South Asian Studies.

Jane t Banks

Chair of Comberton Village College, Janet has been a governor at the school for the past 20 years and has seen her children and grandchildren attend the college. Janet is also a Trustee of the Friars Trust which was set up to benefit students and the older community in her home village, where she also assists her husband and eldest son in running the family farm.

Carol Handley

Carol was formerly the Chair of Governors at Comberton Village College and currently serves as a Community Governor. She is a former Principal of Camden School for Girls, London, and is a Senior Member of Wolfson College, Cambridge, and a Fellow of University College, London. She is still a part-time Classics Tutor in Cambridge.

Joanna Womack 2

Joanna originally qualified and practised as a solicitor in the City of London. After a period teaching Law at New Hall (now Murray Edwards College), Cambridge, she has spent her working life in college and university financial administration, including ten years as Treasurer of the University of Cambridge. She is an Emeritus Fellow of Murray Edwards College and of Clare Hall, University of Cambridge. She is a Trustee of a range of charities, including a children's choir and a Trust managing sheltered accommodation and a care home in Cambridge. She is on the Audit Committee of Cambridge University Press and Chairs the Cambridge Building Society Retirement Plan.



Colin Greenhalgh

Colin was Principal of Hills Road Sixth Form College from 1984-2002 and was vice-chair and Senior Independent Director of Cambridge University Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust from 2002-2010. He is currently a governor of Comberton Village College and Long Road Sixth Form College. He is also President of the Johnian Society at St John's College, Cambridge,an  Honorary Senior Member of Wolfson College, Cambridge, and an Honorary Fellow of Anglia Ruskin University.

john hartley headteacher

In December 2015 John retired after 12 years as Headteacher of Saffron Walden County High School (SWCHS). Since 2011 he has also been Chief Executive of Saffron Academy Trust (SAT).  SWCHS is the largest secondary school in Essex, and was rated outstanding by Ofsted in its most recent inspection.  John has been a National Leader of Education since 2011, and has led and co-ordinated improvement programmes to raise standards in several schools facing challenging circumstances.  In 2016 John will continue to work as an Executive Consultant on behalf of the trust for Alec Hunter Academy in Braintree.


Stephen Munday is the Chief Executive of The Cam Academy Trust and the Executive Principal of Comberton Village College. Since joining Comberton Village College in 2001, the school has become viewed as one of the most successful schools of its type nationally. The school has grown considerably, added a large and popular Sixth Form and been designated as one of the first Teaching Schools in the country during this time.

George Pearson

George is a fomer teacher at The Perse School, Cambridge, and was a Governor there as well as at Impington Village College. He is an experienced business entrepreneur who co-founded and is a Director of Pearson Publishing. He is currently a member of the Management Board of Cambridgeshire’s Virtual School for Looked After Children.

andrew read

Andrew is CEO of the 24-school Diocese of Ely Multi Academy Trust, Director of Education of the Diocese of Ely and a parliamentary advisor in the House of Lords. He has 12 years’ experience leading Ofsted inspections and is an advisor with a track-record in early years, primary, secondary and postgraduate education. He is an author, school governor and a trustee of numerous education charities.

Kris Stutchbury 2

Kris is a former science teacher and governor at Comberton Village College who now works at The Open University, where she is Director of Initial Teacher Education and runs the PGCSE.  Kris is the co-ordinator for TESSA (Teaching Secondary Science) and has published research into ethics, assessment and aprroaches to educational change and eudcational research.  Kris is currently Chair of Cambourne Village College Governing Body.

Stephen Terrell

Stephen has been on the Comberton Governing Body for 20 years and currently chairs their Finance Committee. He is also a member of St. Peter's School Governing Body. Stephen was Managing Director at the Coulson Building Group in Cambridge and is now semi-retired.

Sue Williamson

Sue is a former headteacher who is now Chief Executive of SSAT (The Schools Network), a national organisation which works with schools to improve performance through the development of staff and students. She has written widely on education, including pamphlets on personalising learning and redesigning schooling.  Sue is also the Chair of Melbourn Village College Governing Body.


Tricia has been the Principal of the Stephen Perse Foundation since 2001 (previously the Perse School for Girls), a leading Cambridge independent school, following  a rewarding career as both a history teacher and middle and senior leader across three school. Routinely one of the top performing schools regionally and nationally, the Foundation promotes a love of learning and strives to prepare young people for the world they will live in.  Tricia has taken a lead nationally on the importance of digital learning sharing the Foundation's vision at a range of conferences. She also is a strong advocate of the importance of creativity within the curriculum. 

During her time in Cambridge, Tricia has served as a Syndic on the board of Cambridge Assessment, represented the independent sector on the UK Universities' Delivery Partnership, a national committee tasked with reviewing entry to university, and has been Chair of the Girls' Schools East of England division. 

Register of Trustees' Pecuniary Interests
Trustee Attendance 2014-16
Governance Structure as at January 2017


Links to trust schools' Local Governing Bodies:
Cambourne V.C. Local Governing Body
Comberton V.C. Local Governing Body
Gamlingay First School
Hartford Infant School
Hartford Junior School
Melbourn V.C. Local Governing Body
St. Peter's School Local Governing Body